Congratulations to Daisy & Yuvray who were awarded Briars Junior Cricketers of the year

Our junior cricketers of the year for season 2019-2020 have several things in common:
They’re both champions with the bat, can keep wicket, both train hard, take on advice from their coaches, and both have already cracked Premier Cricket.

We congratulate champion junior female Daisy Webster and champion junior male Yuvraj Dalvi for their sensational seasons.

Daisy co-led the Concord Briars U15 Girls Division 1 team to be champions of the Sydney Sixers League. On the way Daisy scored 184 runs for Briars across their 2 seasons (girls teams play a Spring & Summer season) with an average of 26.29 and a highest score of 45.

Daisy was also selected to participate in the NSW Academy program, and to the Margaret Peden U15 representative team for Canterbury & Western Suburbs.

In just Daisy’s third season with Concord Briars, Daisy also had a successful outing at the 2019 Kookaburra Cup where the team won the U14 Shield.

During Daisy’s knock against Marrickville for her personal-best 45, she fell 30cm short of the boundary, just missing her first 6. Her 2020-21 goal is an unbeaten 50 and many 6’s!

Daisy has also played premier cricket with Sydney Cricket Club, contributing to their premiership of the U18 Brewers Shield in 2020, experience which has helped her to develop her Saturday Club cricket game.

Daisy also took 11 wickets for an average of 16.73, and her best bowling was 3/14 against Easts.  Daisy also held onto a number of catches, had 1 stumping and a run out.

Daisy would be the first to say that cricket is a team sport and would like to thank her team mates for their backing, friendship and motivation.  The team have a great work and friendship ethic that led to last season’s successes both at a team and personal level.  The goal now is win back-to-back premierships with Concord in the Open Age Women’s competition (and get that 50!).

Yuvray also had a stunning 2019/20 season and the statistics tell the tale: He topped the NDJCA U15/16 Lillee competition batsmen with an amazing average of 119.50.

Yuvraj lives and breathes cricket and given any opportunity, loves to train and play and work on his craft. He started playing backyard cricket as a toddler, and started comp cricket with Dundas United as a 7-year-old. He later played 3 seasons for Strathfield before joining Briars in 2016/17. Although a specialist pace bowler early in his career, the past 2 years have seen him blossom as a batsman. While comfortable opening the batting or finishing games with a quickfire flurry, he is the quintessential all-rounder, equally adept at keeping wickets when called upon.

Yuvraj – a year 10 student at Concord High — captains his school’s cricket team. He played Shires cricket for Auburn DCC for 2019/20 where he top scored with 61 not out, and has recently qualified to play Premier Cricket with Sydney University.

Having had very little formal or dedicated coaching in the past, Yuvraj’s success can be mainly ascribed to his natural ability and love for the game, the camaraderie that he shares with his summer and winter cricket teammates at Briars, and the guidance and encouragement he’s received from his parents and coaches.  His work ethic is second to none and we hope his career continues to flourish.

Daisy and Yuvraj are great role models for all our young cricketers – congratulations to both for being Concord Briars 2019-2020 junior champions!

Season 2019-2020 Junior Cricket Awards – The WINNERS!

As all will know, due to current health restrictions we have had challenges bringing everyone together to celebrate the achievements of our young cricketers at our annual awards day for the Season 2019/20.

On behalf of the Briars Sports Club and Junior Cricket Committee  let’s acknowledge and celebrate the players who have won the following awards.

Player of the Year
Male Yuvraj Dalvi
Female Daisy Webster

Special Awards

ASSOC TEAM Round Player Name Batting Milestone Score Bowling Milestone Score
NDJCA U15/16 Maroon 3 Yuvraj Dalvi 100 runs 100*
NDJCA U15/16 Maroon 4 Yuvraj Dalvi 100 runs 101*
NDJCA U15/16 Maroon 3 Jackson Kent 100 runs 100*
Sixers U17 Sunday Maroon 7 Benny Brooks 100 runs 100*
Sixers U13 Saturday PM Maroon 5 Gabriel Encina Hat Trick
IWHJCA U10 Blue 13 Vihaan Shah 5 wickets 6/13
Sixers U12 Sunday Maroon 12 Hamish Malone Hat Trick
Sixers U13 Saturday PM Maroon 1 Aidan Lang Hat Trick
IWHJCA U10 Blue 4 Ari Mansford Hat Trick

Team Awards

NDJCA U15/16 Maroon Yuvraj Dalvi Yuvraj Dalvi Gabriel Steel
NDJCA U14 Maroon Marco Iacovitti Xavier Busch Edward Newton
NDJCA U13 Maroon Thomas Dunphy Will Sims Jack Broadbent
Sixers U17 Sunday Maroon James Hawkins John Papathanasiou Benny Brooks
Sixers U15 Sunday Maroon Angus Reen Luke McSweeny Alexander Colreavy
IWHJCA U14 Saturday PM Maroon Srisatwik Bhogadi Jack Roberts Luke Hill
IWHJCA U14 Saturday PM Gold Ryan Michel Jarvis Cheung Zack Narayan
Sixers U13 Saturday PM Maroon Lachlan Wodson Liam Lenord Rafferty Kitching
Sixers U14 Sunday Maroon Arpan Desai Roan Fahy Lochlan Demark
Sixers U13 Sunday Gold Jayden Skuse Matthew Morozoff Benjamin Ronan
Sixers U12 Sunday Maroon Oscar Todd Jack Edwards Guinness Devlin
Sixers U12 Sunday Gold Alexander Stewart Alexander Stewart Alexander Stewart
IWHJCA U12 Maroon Luke Ellison Raffy Yardy Dhruv Dawar
IWHJCA U12 Gold Josh Robinson Talan Irving Kobe Cheung
IWHJCA U12 Black Luke Strmecki Luke Strmecki Luke Strmecki
IWHJCA U11 Maroon Edward Huynh Edward Huynh Henry Joyce
IWHJCA U11 Gold Krishna Nair Aayush Parikh Xavier Tavano
IWHJCA U11 Black Hamish MacLeay William Goldsworthy Hamish MacLeay
IWHJCA U11 White Achyuth Arunraj Aaryn Jamwal Kian White
IWHJCA U10 Maroon Oscar Halliday William Malone William Malone
IWHJCA U10 Gold Max Celegon Finlay Kitching Hayden Milson
IWHJCA U10 Black Luke Maronese Luke Maronese Flynn Grainger
IWHJCA U10 White Malcolm MacKenzie Siddharth Siby Babu Siddharth Siby Babu
IWHJCA U10 Blue Matthew Tydd Vihaan Shah Vihaan Shah
IWHJCA U10 Green Lachlan Gacitua Henry Perkins Tom Knight
IWHJCA U10 Yellow Max Lygoyris Dimitri Paleologos Riley Grant
IWHJCA U9 Maroon Ben Hooker
IWHJCA U9 Gold Joshua Nixon
IWHJCA U9 Black Ethan Jovcevski
IWHJCA U9 White Noah Richards
IWHJCA U9 Blue Lachlan Tucker
IWHJCA U8 Maroon Tyrone Young
IWHJCA U8 Gold William Hall
Sixers U11 GIRLS Maroon (Summer) Beth Eccleston Makayla Day Eden Riley
Sixers U11 GIRLS Maroon (Spring)   Eden Riley Eden Riley
Sixers U11 GIRLS Gold (Summer) Sinead McLennan Phoebe Hancock Freya Hancock
Sixers U11 GIRLS Gold (Spring)   Sinead McLennan Caitlin Collins
Sixers U11 GIRLS Black (Summer) Suhaan Akhter Anique Michel Suhaan Akhter
Sixers U11 GIRLS Black (Spring)   Anique Michel SUHAAN AKHTER
Sixers U11 GIRLS White (Summer) Nadia Carvalho Nadia Carvalho Tara McCall
Sixers U11 GIRLS White (Spring)   Nadia Carvalho Tara McCall
Sixers U13 GIRLS (Summer) Ruby Turner Allegra Park Lily Hancock
Sixers U13 GIRLS (Spring)   Kitri Irving Niamh Collins
Sixers U15 GIRLS Div 1 (Summer) Meg Wrigley Gemma Lockhart Daisy Webster
Sixers U15 GIRLS Div 1 (Spring)   Daisy Webster Audrey Bloomfield
Sixers U15 GIRLS Div 2 (Summer) Mia Grassia Elsie Gray Aoife Foley
Sixers U15 GIRLS Div 2 (Spring)   Elsie Gray Elsie Gray
IWHJCA Master Blaster Maroon Samuel Miller
IWHJCA Master Blaster Gold Archie Di Donato
IWHJCA Master Blaster Black James Burnicle
IWHJCA Master Blaster White Jacob McGrath